The Barney Awards

Thank you to all who attended the 2023 Season Barney Awards and volunteer appreciation celebration, and all those who weren't able to attend but made sure we put the best possible production together this season! Watch this space around the end of 2024 for more information about our 2024 Season celebration in 2025!

2023 Season Barney Award recipients

Volunteer of the Year
Rob Reeder
6x10 Fan Favorite
Missed Connection by Doug Dresslaer
Technical Achievement:
Costume Design – Patricia Berning – Little Women
Stage Manager Recognition Awards
Alisha Morris - Little Women, Daniel Vazquez - Ragtime
Supporting Actress:
Mia Cabrera – Amy March – Little Women
Supporting Actor:
Henry Morgan – Laurie – Little Women
Featured Performer:
Miles Wirth – Willie Conklin – Ragtime
Best Actress:
Samantha Crook – Mother – Ragtime
Best Actor:
Hewleek McKoy – Jon – Tick, Tick…Boom! and Kaleb Clemmons – Coalhouse Walker, Jr – Ragtime
Music Director:
Michelle Allen McIntire - Rodgers and Hammerstein’s A Grand Night For Singing
Outstanding Orchestra:
Rodgers and Hammerstein’s A Grand Night For Singing
Best Director:
Cara Hampton – Little Women
Best Show:

The 2022 Season Barney Award Recipients

Volunteer of the Year
Shelly Stewart Banks
Stage Managers
Rebekah Grieb, Emilie Christian, Stephanie Laaker, Brenna McConaughey
Technical Achievement
Projections: Jason Coats - First Date
Dance Ensemble
Jerry Birts, Alex Gumminger, Erin Robertson, LB - Songs for a New World
Dance Achievement
Jerry Birts – Songs For A New World
LB – Songs For A New World
Featured Performer In An Ensemble Production
Margo Mikkelson – Putting It Together
Supporting Performance In Multiple Productions
Carson Tate – First Date & Songs For A New World
Supporting Actor
Mishi Schueller – Next To Normal
Lead Actor
Ashley Young – Next To Normal
Musical Direction
Delano Mendoza-Holt & Caleb McCarroll – Next To Normal
Tiffany Schweigert – Next To Normal
Best Production
Next To Normal

2020 and 2021 Season Recognition Honorees

Individual Acting
Scott Kruse - Titanic, Carson Tate - Company, Kay Noonan - Company, Julia Masterson - Laramie Project, Cara Hampton - Once
Duet Acting
Brent Custer & Christoph Cording - Laramie Project
Duet Vocal
Joy Richardson & David Loethen - Titanic, Kelsie Clark Massey & Robert Hingula - Once
Sean Leistico - Company
Musical Direction
Delano Mendoza - Titanic
Production Team Recognition
Once - Barb Nichols (Direction), Ashley Jones Rivers (Musical Direction), Christopher Barksdale-Burns (Choreography)
Ensemble Recognition
Titanic, Once
Volunteer Recognition Award
Eric Magnus

2019 Season Barney Award Recipients

Best Actress
Erica Baruth (Victor/Victoria) Victor/Victoria
Best Actor
Brian King (Baron Felix Von Gaigern) Grand Hotel: The Musical
Supporting Actress
Chelsea Rolfes (Siobhan) The Curious Incident of the Dog in The Night-Time
Supporting Actor
Tony Francisco (Dave Bukatinsky) The Full Monty
Costume Design
Mary Caitland Williams – Grand Hotel: The Musical
Scenic Design
Richard Burt - The Curious Incident of the Dog in The Night-Time
Valerie Martin – Mamma Mia!
Lighting Design
Alex Perry – Grand Hotel: The Musical
Cameo Performance
Raheem Fielder-Bey (Jimmy 1) AND Mark McNeal (Jimmy 2) - Grand Hotel: The Musical
Kevin Bogan – Grand Hotel: The Musical
Musical Director
Matthew Richardson – Grand Hotel
Grand Hotel: The Musical
Volunteer of the Year
Tim Dykes
Spirit Award
Miles Wirth, honoring his 22 appearances in Barn shows since 2010

2018 Season Barney Award Recipients

Volunteer of the Year
Paul Hough
Best Actor
Jonathan Rizzo (Bud) - The Bridges of Madison County
Best Actress
Krista Eyler (Velma Kelly) - Chicago
Best Supporting Actor
Alex Leondedis (David) - Torch Song Trilogy AND Jeff Smith (Stacee Jaxx) - Rock of Ages
Best Supporting Actress
JC Dresslaer ("Mama" Morton) - Chicago
Best Choreography
Valerie Martin - Urinetown
Best Costumes
Elise Campagna & Sarah Jeter - Urinetown
Best Technical Achievement
Doug Schroeder (Set Design) - The Bridges of Madison County
Best Dual Performances in a Single Season
Christoph Cording - Ensemble in Chicago & Charlie in The Bridges of Madison County
Best Musical Direction
Martha Risser - Chicago
Best Director
Eric Magnus - Rock of Ages
Best Production
Rock of Ages

2017 Season Barney Award Recipients

Best Actor
Andy Penn (John Proctor) - The Crucible
Best Actress
Allison Jones (Deloris Van Cartier) - Sister Act
Best Supporting Actor
Christoph Nevins (Arpad Laszlo) - She Loves Me
Best Supporting Actress
Emma Cook (Mary Warren) - The Crucible
Male Cameo
Matt McGaugh (Busboy) - She Loves Me
Female Cameo
Vicki Kerns (Sister Mary Lazarus) - Sister Act
Technical Achievement
Sets - High Fidelity, Valerie Martin (Choreography) - She Loves Me, Amanda Rhodes (Props) - Rumors, Kimberly Thompson (Costumes) - Grey Gardens, J. Patrick Inlow (Lighting Design) - Sister Act
Best Musical Direction
Delano Mendoza - High Fidelity
Best Direction
Guy Gardner - Sister Act
Best Production
Sister Act

2016 Season Barney Award Recipients

Volunteer of the Year
Barb Nichols
Supporting Actress
Kristen May Altoro - Legally Blonde
Supporting Actor
Sean Leistico - The Elephant Man
Costume Design
Holly Daniel - The Elephant Man
Set Design
Doug Schroeder - Kiss of the Spider Woman
Lighting Design
Philip Leonard - The Elephant Man
Sound Design
Sean Leistico - The Graduate
Featured Performance
Pam Lutz Haskin - Nice Work If You Can Get It
Ramsey Self and Valerie Martin - Nice Work If You Can Get It
Musical Director
James Levy - Legally Blonde
Guy Gardner - Legally Blonde
Maggie Marx - Legally Blonde
Coleman Crenshaw - The Elephant Man
Legally Blonde

PLEASE NOTE: If you have information which contradicts or adds to the information listed below, please contact our webmaster at Thank you!